How long should you wait to hunt a stand after a kill?

How long should you wait to hunt a stand after a kill?

Even if I don't kill a deer from a stand, I normally let it rest for at least 48 hours before going back for it. I went looking for other stands. Because of the high volume of traffic in and out, they must also be nocturnal. It's possible some are day-active but most likely all are night-active.

I've seen people say to only wait 24 hours but that's too short for me. If something scares the deer away or not enough food is available, it might need more time to recover before being hunted again.

There are really no right or wrong answers here, it's just a matter of preference/circumstances. But I would recommend letting your kill rest for at least 48 hours before going back for it.

What time should you be in the woods for deer hunting?

If I'm just hunting in the afternoons during the rut, I attempt to arrive 4-6 hours before dark if I'm hunting a densely wooded cruising position, and closer to 3-4 hours before dark if I'm hunting a feeding supply. Either way, I try to be there by at least mid-afternoon when most of the action tends to slow down.

But morning is another story. If it's not going to rain, I like to get up with the sun and hunt from a blind or stand. However, if it looks like it might rain, I'll usually just stay in bed and wait it out.

Either way, I try to be in my spot by early afternoon when most of the action again starts to slow down. But if I see anything suspicious (such as fresh tracks in the mud or scents coming from nearby plants that indicate a buck is in the area), I'll sometimes stay longer to give myself more chances at success.

In general, then, I'd say you should plan on being in your spot for about three hours starting either in the late afternoon or very early evening.

However, this all depends on the weather and the season.

How many times can you hunt a stand?

If you like, you can hunt the same stand every day. Last year, we shot 27 deer from one of our club stands. That was with 9 people hunting it at least three to four days a week. The season lasted about as long as it usually does, so just be sure to check out the regulations before you go out hunting.

The good news is that most stands will only cost you around $10 up to a hundred dollars. So if you have some money left over after paying for your license and tags, then by all means, buy a new stand!

There are two ways to choose a stand. You can either pick one at random or do some research on what's popular with other hunters in your area. If you go with someone else's suggestion, that's fine too. Just make sure that it's legal where you live to shoot from it.

Stands usually fall into two categories: portable and fixed. A portable stand is one that fits in your truck or car and can be set up at different locations. These are easy to put up and take down. Fixed stands are usually built into the ground or placed on tall trees. They're more permanent than portable stands but aren't able to be moved after they're set up.

When can you shoot in SC?

Deer hunting is legal between one hour before official dawn and one hour after official dusk (50-11-710). You must have a deer license, which can be purchased online or at any South Carolina Department of Natural Resources (SCDNR) office.

Hunters should use caution not to shoot deer during the daytime in South Carolina. Although it is illegal to hunt deer during the day, many people believe that they can get away with it because nobody sees them do it. However, if an animal is down on its knees and not moving around, then it may be injured and should not be shot. Also, if an animal's head is covered with a bowler hat or other similar cover, it is legal to shoot that animal.

It is illegal to take wildlife without a permit, but this law is rarely enforced. If you are accused of taking wildlife without a permit, call the SCDNR at 877-287-3465 to make arrangements for an official hearing. The hearing will determine whether there is enough evidence against you to issue an arrest warrant. If so, you will be given 24 hours to come into compliance or face jail time and/or a fine.

About Article Author

Karl Richmon

Karl Richmon is an expert on all sorts of machinery and equipment, from cars to washing machines. He knows about their benefits and drawbacks as well as their prices and specifications. Karl will find out everything there is to know about any piece of machinery or equipment, whether it's new or old.

Related posts