In Kansas, for example, a nonresident "hunt-on-your-own-land" deer permission is required. A citizen or nonresident who actively farms a tract of 80 acres or more in the state is eligible for this permit. The property must be under fee simple ownership. The name on the deed must be indicated in a certain way. Also, the owner cannot be an Indian tribe.
The purpose of this special license is to provide additional revenue for the state through the sale of permits. Private landowners are allowed to charge a fee for these licenses.
Kansas residents are exempt from this requirement.
Nonresidents who plan to hunt during the open season must obtain a license from the Department of Wildlife and Parks (Kan. Dept. of Wildlife &; Parks).
This license is available only at licensed dealers throughout the state. You can find one near you by contacting the department by phone or online.
The cost of the license is $10 for residents and $50 for nonresidents. It is valid for three years.
Children under 16 years old are free to accompany their parents on hunting trips. If they want to participate in the sport themselves, they will have to get a license. However, there are no fees for children under 16 years old as long as they are accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian.
Illegal hunting is punishable by law.
"Hunt-on-Your-Own-Land Permits" are provided in Kansas to resident or non-resident landowners or renters who actively participate in agricultural techniques on 80 acres or more of Kansas land. A person must hold property in fee simple ownership with their name on the deed to qualify as a nonresident landowner. The value of the land used for hunting must be at least $10,000; if it is not, the land must be managed by a farm manager or other qualified individual for at least part of the year.
If you have a farm or ranch and want to know how much land you need to hunt, start with this formula: Take the number of hunters you plan to take out annually and divide it by the number of days you expect to be gone each time. For example, if you plan to take two hunters out annually for five days each time they go hunting, you would need 20 acres per hunter. Multiply that by two years and you have 40 acres needed for Kansas farmland hunting.
In most cases, farmers and ranchers can use firearms without obtaining a special license to harvest wildlife on their own land. However, some species are protected under state law and cannot be shot unless you have a license. These include black bear, bobcat, coyote, gray wolf, mountain lion, porcupine, raccoon, skunk, squirrel, white-tailed deer, and any species listed as "protected."
It combines current provisions for deer, turkey, and combination hunting licenses for Illinois landowners who reside in Illinois and own at least 40 acres of Illinois land and wish to hunt only on their land; resident tenants of at least 40 acres of commercial agricultural land where they will hunt; and bona fide equity holders. Landowners must pay an annual license fee of $20 per year.
In addition, the license is required for all hunters 16 years of age or older. Residents are permitted to hire licensed non-residents to hunt on their land as long as those non-residents comply with all local regulations.
The purpose of this law is to provide additional funds into the Illinois Wildlife Restoration Fund by charging a licensing fee for the privilege of hunting wildlife on private land. The law also creates a special license category for people who live on farms and/or ranch lands. The license is required for all farmers' sons and daughters 16 years of age or older who want to hunt on their parents' farms. The license is also required for any other person living on a farm or ranch who wants to hunt wildlife there. This license is available at no charge to those persons who can demonstrate that they have a genuine interest in conservation on agricultural lands.
People who live on farms but not ranch lands can obtain a license at a reduced rate if they can show that farming is their primary occupation. A license is also available at a reduced rate to active duty military personnel and their spouses.