Nonresidents must pay a hunting license ($131.00) and a nonresident habitat charge ($15.00) in order to hunt in Iowa. To hunt deer, you'll also need tags, which are $498.00 for an any-sex tag and antlerless tag combo. A deer hunting application will cost $644.00 plus any relevant fees. You can apply by phone or online for both the license and the tag.
Iowa residents are required to purchase a resident hunting license that costs $41.00. The nonresident license is $131.00 while the resident habitat fee is $15.00. Tags are $498.00 for an any-sex tag and antlerless tag combo. An optional drawing for additional tags takes place each year in September. Hunters can enter this drawing by paying an additional $125.00 for more tag options.
Hunters must be at least 16 years old to purchase a license. Those under 18 may not shoot guns during the season nor may they use bows. They can still participate in other aspects of the harvest such as tagging and removing organs.
Only one deer per square mile is allowed, except if you have a permit allowing you to take multiple deer. If you take more than your permit allows, then you'll need to sell the extra animals on the market after the season ends.
Hunters should always check with local game officials before going out into the field because rules change from county to county.
To hunt or trap in Iowa, citizens 16 to 64 years old and all non-residents, regardless of age, must pay the Wildlife Habitat Fee if they are required to obtain a hunting or fur-harvester license. To shoot deer and turkey, all non-residents must pay the Wildlife Habitat Fee. Residents are not charged this fee.
The fee is $10 for residents younger than 18 and non-resident youth 17 to 18 years old. It is $20 for all other youth younger than 21 and adults. The fee is valid for one year from the date of purchase. It may be purchased at any Department of Natural Resources office or online through our website at www.iowadnr.org.
The purpose of the Wildlife Habitat Stamp is to help defray the cost of managing wildlife within the state. The DNR charges an annual licensing fee to cover the cost of administering the program. The money collected from the Wildlife Habitat Stamps is used exclusively for conservation activities that benefit all Iowa hunters and trappers, including habitat management, education, law enforcement and research.
Residents are allowed to claim a refund for up to four years after purchasing their stamp. The DNR considers the Wildlife Habitat Stamp to be a tax payment subject to state refund laws.
Iowa Requirements for Hunting Licensed Hunting Preserves All hunters hunting on licensed hunting preserves must get an Iowa small game hunting license and the habitat charge, or the hunting preserve hunting license, which is only valid on licensed preserves, and the habitat fee. If you want to hunt on both public and private lands, you need a separate permit for each system.
Private lands usually require that you have permission from the landowner to hunt on their property. If you do not have this permission, you can be arrested for trespassing. Public lands are areas that are owned by no one specifically but are still protected by the state because of their importance to wildlife. These include national parks and forests, federal wildlife refuges, and state parks. Anyone has the right to walk on public lands, so long as they don't cause damage to the area or violate any laws.
Public lands can be managed by either the federal government or the states, so regulations vary depending on what agency manages them. States often manage their own lands while the federal government manages areas such as National Parks and Forest Service lands.
It is your responsibility to know what laws apply on public lands in your area. Make sure you read all information provided by agencies that oversee these areas before you go out hunting.
That is, in the end, what may make or break a hunting trip strategy. License Costs and Alternatives: When compared to many other states, particularly those with a history of large buck success, Ohio provides fairly inexpensive hunting license options. Instead of applying and waiting to be drawn, non-resident tags for Ohio deer hunting can be purchased over the counter. Such tags are available at most sporting goods stores within the state and cost $25 for seven days of hunting.
In addition to being less expensive than most other states, Ohio also offers an online option for purchasing its hunting licenses. This method of delivery allows hunters to check the status of their tag without having to go to a store location. It's also possible to call 1-800-322-5941 to order a tag over the phone. The call center is open from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. daily.
Hunters should know that only one tag per species may be bought over the counter or by telephone. They can purchase more than one tag online but they must do so separately for each species they wish to hunt.
Store-bought tags are valid for seven days, although some areas are open for longer periods. Non-residents are required to pay a fee of $10 for each additional day they want to hunt.
Public lands in Ohio offer unlimited hunting days for free. Private lands may have different rules, so it's best to ask the landowner before going out hunting.
Montana is one of those elk hunting magnets, because to the state's many record-breaking trophies. Residents can purchase elk permits over the counter for a price of $10–$20. Combination in General Non-resident licenses for one elk are only available by lottery and cost $884; an elk-deer combo costs $1046. Private landowners can issue their own permits as long as they have at least one licensed hunter on their land during the season.
Elk hunting is popular throughout most of Montana because of the state's huge populations of this species. In fact, according to the Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks department, there are currently between 6,000 and 7,000 elk roaming Montana's public lands. This makes elk hunting in Montana very affordable and accessible to even first-time hunters.
Since most elk are found on private land, you will need to get permission from the owner to hunt on their property. If you don't, you will be arrested for trespassing. However, since most owners allow hunters to use their land if it isn't being hunted themselves, this shouldn't be a problem for most people.
Like most other states that permit elk hunting, Montana uses a tag system to manage its population. Tags are issued to hunters who submit a tag application and pay a fee.