To hunt on private property or within the 450-foot safety zone, all hunters must first get permission from the landowner. The NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife has given you with a Hunter Landowner Courtesy Card (in this handbook and in the digest) to use when seeking hunting license. You must present this card at any office that issues licenses to show your good faith effort to obtain permission before going onto private land.
If you fail to obtain permission, you can be issued a violation for illegal taking of game and may be fined up to $5,000 or imprisoned for up to five years. If you kill protected wildlife such as deer or bear without a permit, you can be fined up to $50,000 or imprisoned for up to 20 years.
Hunting on private property is allowed only if it isn't being used for agricultural purposes. This means no crops and no livestock. Hunting deer, turkey, bear, and other species is prohibited during certain times of the year such as during breeding season for females over the age of 12 or during nesting seasons. Other regulations may apply as well depending on the nature of the property and whether it is public or not. For example, fishing is generally allowed on public lands but not on private properties without the owner's consent.
Fish and Game officials will be able to tell you whether hunting is permitted on particular land and what restrictions may apply.
Any hunter who wishes to hunt on private land, regardless of season or hunting method (such as firearms, bows and arrows, or traps), must first obtain written permission from the landowner. The Ohio Department of Natural Resources has this permit form (see Resources). A license is required for all hunters 16 years of age or older.
Landowners can ask any prospective hunter to show proof of having a valid hunting license before giving permission to hunt on their property. If a landowner asks but does not get an answer, they can assume that the hunter will need a license. It is best to contact the ODNR by email or phone and make sure that you receive a response before giving permission to hunt on your property.
Hunters should also know that many landowners require them to wear camouflage when hunting on their land. Even if you are able to find something to wear when you go hunting, it is best to bring something with you that fits properly because you may have to change out of your regular clothes once on the property.
If you do not want to bother anyone else with licenses or clothing requirements, then you should avoid hunting on private land. However, if you do take someone up on their offer to hunt on their property, be sure to follow their rules and regulations carefully.
Tips for asking permission to hunt on other private land: State law requires you to obtain verbal permission from the landowner. Only the landowner can give hunting permission. 2. In most cases, the owner of the property can say yes or no. However, if you think it might be awkward if they say no, then ask them if they will sign a permission form.
You do not need written permission to hunt on private land in Michigan as long as you have obtained verbal consent from the landowner. This is required by law.
Hunters must also comply with local ordinances, so make sure to check with your local government before heading out into the woods.
In addition, private landowners may impose any conditions they wish when giving permission to hunt on their land. Therefore, be sure to ask about any restrictions when seeking approval to hunt on private property. For example, some landowners may want to ensure that only legal hunters receive permission by requiring you to show them identification. You should never go onto someone's property without their express permission; this could be considered trespass and illegal under federal law.
Verbal consent is sufficient to grant permission to hunt on private land in Michigan. Written permission is not required.