Hunters who do not need a license must get a free DNRid number as well as a free Maryland Big Game Harvest Record if they want to shoot deer or turkeys. These products are available through a DNR Sport License agent or online at www.dnr.maryland.gov/service. You can also check with any local police department to see if there is anyone missing near where you live.
If you plan to use a gun that has been registered in another state, such as Virginia, then you should know that you will be required to have a Maryland hunting license if you carry that weapon into Maryland. Even if the gun was legally owned before you took it out of its previous state, you still need to register it with the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) and obtain a license if it is being carried in Maryland.
The only exception is if you are carrying a loaded firearm in your locked vehicle on public property or within the confines of your own home or business. In this case, you do not need a license. However, even in these cases, you are required by law to have your firearm equipped with a trigger lock or disable the trigger on all firearms when not in use.
It is important to remember that even if you are not going to shoot one of these animals, killing them is still against the law in Maryland.
A Big Game Harvest Record is free to obtain at any DNR Sport License Agent location, in person or by mail, or from any DNR Service Center, or you may print your own at http://dnr.maryland.gov/Pages/licensing.aspx. Junior Hunting License for Non-Residents—$65.00.
There are five different types of licenses required to hunt big game in Maryland: archery, muzzleloader, rifle, shotgun.
The first thing you need to know is that to buy a license you must be at least 16 years old and not appear on any federal no-hunting list. Licenses are available online at www.mdconserve.com, by phone at 1-866-447-6836, and at many retail stores across the state. You can also order by mail through the website. The cost is $10 for residents and $25 for nonresidents.
When ordering by mail, you will need to provide your name, address, birth date, gender (if female), occupation (if applicable), and telephone number. You should receive your license within four to six weeks after ordering. A parent or guardian must accompany anyone under 18 years old when buying a license.
It's important to remember that these are annual licenses, so if you want to hunt again this season you'll need to reorder.
Nonresidents of Maryland who own property in the state and hunt on it must get a Nonresident Hunting License. Individuals who are exempt from Maryland hunting license requirements are subject to all state and federal hunting and trapping rules and regulations. The only exemption that applies to nonresidents is if they can demonstrate that they are licensed in another state with similar laws. Residents of Maryland who own property in the state and hunt on it do not need a license.
A nonresident who owns real property in Maryland and uses it for hunting purposes is required by law to have a hunting license. This includes residents who own land in Maryland but live in other states or countries. If you do not have a license, you can be arrested and fined.
Nonresidents who are not licensed are doing so at their own risk. They could be prosecuted under Maryland law if they are found guilty of violating any of the licensing requirements. In addition, unlicensed nonresidents cannot use the illegally taken game. Game recovered by illegal hunters can't be sold on the market but instead has to be donated to charity or destroyed.
Nonresidents who are not licensed are encouraged to contact the department before they go out hunting so that permission can be obtained. You can do this by emailing [email protected]